high holidays

Today is 4:20, the “so called cannabis culture holiday”. About 5,000 people gathered in a field at UCSC to smoke pot. No, I wasn’t one of them. I should say right away I’m not a big fan of the drug. But to be fair, I’m not a big fan of drugs in general. And I’m not just talking about illegal drugs. It’s not that I don’t approve of drugs or think it’s wrong to use them. I’m just a little resentful that I have never been able to use them successfully. I have tried almost every pain medication known to man. Not one of them has helped me and almost all of them made me sick. The Last doctor I saw brought up the subject of medical marijuana. It was a last resort and out desperation I decided to try it. It wasn’t actually medical grade but it was marijauan and I figured it was close enough. I have never in my life had a good experience with this drug, but as I was saying, I was desperate. So I decided to give it the old college try. It didn’t do anything for my pain, but it did make me extemely self conscious, acutely aware of every sensation in my body, anti-social and slightly depressed.

I’m, not trying to be a buzz kill here. I’m not one of those people who think you can never have too many brain cells. Actually, I think that having high numbers of functioning brain cells is overrated. Being conscious all the time has it’s down side. And being present in the moment isn’t all it’s cracked up to be either (trust me, I’ve been there and I couldn’t wait to leave). It’s not like I want to check out of my life completely. It would just be nice to know that there was a happy-hour in my future. Say every afternoon from 4:00-5:00. Hey, I’d even take a happy half hour. I realize it’s a slippery slope though. Happy hour turns into happy-day, happy-day into happy-life. And pretty soon your standing in a field with 5,000 other happy people “celebrating” cannabis and saying things like, “Smoking pot is one of the greatest joys in life if you do it responsibly”, and my personal favorite,”I think brain damage can have some very therapeutic effects sometimes.”

If this sounds familiar, it might be because you have been smoking too much pot, or it might be because it was originally published on 4:20 2008.

One response

Leave a Reply

